I can’t say the things I want to say

I want to try to get back into blogging. I want this blog to focus solely on the subject of film/movies/motion pictures, whatever you want to call them. I want to post screenshots of movies I cherish, movies I want to see, movies I will never view again. I am trying to learn more about the art of film and film making. I hope this blog will encourage me to explore the art of cinema, its depth, and that it’s much, much more than just popcorn entertainment or a way to “turn off your brain.” Films can be enlightening and educational, and they give us the opportunity to empathize with and relate to both people who are familiar to us and people who are completely foreign to us.

Here’s a film I have been thinking a lot about: After the Wedding, a film from Denmark, directed by Susanne Bier. I watched it for the first time a month ago and re-watched it a few days ago. I absolutely love it. I began the film with very little knowledge about its themes and its story. I think that was for the best because this film has a lot of surprises… a lot of powerful, emotional surprises that work better when the viewer hasn’t been spoiled about the secrets within the movie. The camera work in this movie is absolutely essential in heightening the emotions experienced not only by the actors, but by the audience, too. The incessant close-ups and the lingering shots throughout the movie (especially during the wedding scene itself) make this film intense and intimate.

And, of course, it doesn’t hurt that there is a lot of arguing in the movie. I truly love watching people argue.

“Every acquaintance, every friend, every person who has a place in your heart, it is the time with them that really means something. Nothing else matters.”

About this entry