In a Better World

Over the weekend I went to see Susanne Bier’s newest film, In a Better World (which won both the Academy Award and Golden Globe for Best Foreign Language Film). I was recently introduced to another one of Bier’s movies titled After the Wedding, which I have come to love and frequently think about. Both In a Better World and After the Wedding look similar–the intimate, handheld camera direction is present in both films, which enhance and intensify the emotions that the characters are experiencing. From the three Bier films I have seen, it seems that I can count on my emotions being pulled every which way during the running time. Some critics call it being “manhandled” or “manipulated,” but I love it. In my opinion, it makes for a much more engaging, memorable, and rewarding experience.

About this entry